Annual Awards Wow in Wales

Published on: Wednesday, 28th Feb 2024

Thursday 28th June was the date as we celebrate our involvement in the 5th Daily Post School Awards!  The annual awards ceremony focuses on recognising the top talent in North Wales’ education system, from the best school newsletters and social media feeds, through to the best headteachers, schools and support staff.  This year saw a record number of entries across the nine awards categories, with judges facing their toughest task yet in shortlisting the nominees into finalists before picking eventual winners.

The ceremony opened with a wonderful performance from Ysgol Llannefydd, who were also up for both the Class/Team of the Year and Primary School of the Year awards.  Schools with real Daily Post Awards pedigree were in the running for several of the biggest prizes, with newcomers to the ceremony also fairing well and picking up their first awards.  Full list of winners and finalists below:

School in the Community Award

Winner: Ysgol Uwchradd Tywyn

Other Finalists: Ysgol Bro Aled, Ysgol Bro Cinmeirch

School Communication Award

Winner: Ysgol Y Creuddyn

Other Finalists: Ysgol Bro Hyddgen, Rydal Penrhos School

Class/Team of the Year

Winner: Ysgol Bryn Coch

Other Finalists: Ysgol Llandygai, Ysgol Llannefydd

Healthy Living Award

Winner: Ysgol Abererch

Other Finalists: N/A

School Support Staff of the Year

Winner: Catherine Williams – Ysgol Dyffyn Nantlle

Other Finalists: Sharon Wells – Ysgol Dyffryn Dulas, Alison Jarvis – Madras VA Primary School

Inspiration Teacher of the Year

Winner: Rowen Davenport – Christchurch CP School

Other Finalists: Joan Johnson – Penrhos Avenue Pupil Referral Unit, Andrew Johnson – Wood Memorial CP School

Head Teacher of the Year

Winner: Helen Vernon – Bodnant Community School

Other Finalists: Helen Lewis – Ysgol Uwchradd Tywyn, Susan Clisham – Ysgol Yr Esgob, Nia Goldsmith – Ysol Ty Fynnon

Primary School of the Year

Winner: Ysgol Yr Esgob

Other Finalists: Ysgol Llannefydd, Ysgol Llanfawr

Secondary School of the Year

Winner: Ysgol Uwchradd Tywyn

Other Finalists: Ysgol Y Creudyn, Argoed High School


Spread the love