Cheshire School Awards

Published on: Monday, 15th Apr 2024



cheshire6Last Wednesday saw the return of the annual Trinity Mirror Cheshire School Awards.  Teachers, staff and pupils from across the county came together at the Queen’s Hotel, Chester, for one of our favourite events in the academic calendar.  BBC’s Dianne Oxberry was on hand once again to host the awards, and Excell director Jon Everall (pictured left) announced the winners of two of the afternoon’s biggest awards (see the full list of winners below).  The Excell Supply Primary School of the Year went to Meadow Community Primary School, whist the Secondary School of the Year category was won by Sandbach High School.  



Mike Green, Executive Editor of Trinity Mirror Cheshire commented “It is the third year in a row that we have stages this important event to recognise the outstanding work going on and achievements being made at schools right across the county.  Everyone in this room today, everyone shortlisted, deserves enormous congratulations and can feel rightly proud to have reached this final stage.”



There was a fantastic atmosphere throughout the afternoon and warm applause greeted the shortlisted schools as the stories behind their nominations were revealed to the audience.  The biggest cheers of the day were reserved for the individual awards, with Vanessa Stockton’s 1-1 support work making her a worthy winner of the School Support Staff award, as well as Kathryn Oates of St Werburgh’s and St Columba’s proving a popular choice for the Primary School Headteacher of the Year award (St Werburgh’s & St Columba’s have had a very successful couple of years at the awards, having previously won Primary School of the Year, Active Community and School Support Staff of the Year categories).

The Awards ceremony was deemed an overwhelming success and we are already looking forward to next year’s event!


2017 Cheshire School Awards Winners:

School Achievement Award

Eaton Bank Academy

School Newspaper/Website Award

Frodsham School News, Frodsham CE Primary

School Support Staff of the Year

Vanessa Stockton, St Clare’s

Active Community Award

Helsby High School

Inspirational Teacher of the Year

Greg de Souza, Congleton High School

Primary School Headteacher of the Year

Kathryn Oates, St Weburgh’s and St Columba’s Primary

NCS Secondary School Headteacher of the Year

Lyndsay Watterson, Queen’s Park High School

Excell Supply Primary School of the Year

Meadow Community Primary School

Excell Supply Secondary School of the Year

Sandbach High School

Spread the love